Spring 2017

  • The Beginners Group and the Elementary Group meet on Saturdays from 9:00 – 10:00.
  • The Intermediate Group and the Advanced Group meet on Saturdays from 10:30 – 12:00.
  • All groups meet in Phillips Hall rooms 206 and 208.

This schedule is tentative and may be changed.

Date Beginners Group Topic  Elementary Group Topic Intermediate Group Topic Advanced Group Topic
Saturday, Jan 14 (basketball Saturday)  Polygons Coounting, Part 1 Line Segments The Game of Hackenbush, Part 1
Saturday, Jan 21   Circles Counting, Part 2 Measuring Angles  Hackenbush and Other Games
Saturday, Jan 28  Triangles Counting, Part 3 Triangle Inequality Patterns in Pascal’s Triangle
Saturday, Feb 4 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 11 Triangular Numbers Greatest Common Factors, Part 1 A Taste of Moscow Groups and Symmetry, Part 1
Saturday, Feb 18 (basketball Saturday) Games and Puzzles Greatest Common Factors, Part 2 A Taste of Moscow, Part 2 Groups and Symmetry, Part 2
Saturday, Feb 25  Counting Math Auction Counting, Part 1 Groups and Symmetry, Part 3: 15-Puzzle and Rubik’s Cube
Saturday, March 4 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, March 11 Anagrams The Game of Spot It Counting, Part 2 Problem Solving Strategies
Saturday, March 18  Cryptarithms   Lattice Squares and Triangles  Proofs Lattice Polygons and Pick’s Theorem
Saturday, March 25 Tesselations Farey Sequences and Ford Circles
Saturday, Apr 1 SPRING BREAK – No Math Circle
Saturday, April 8 Math Art, Part 1 Matrices
Saturday, April 15 Math Art, Part 2 Knot Coloring
Saturday, Apr 22 Science Expo at UNC – Please come visit our table anytime between 10:00 and 3:00!
Saturday, April 29 Julia Robinson Math Festival 10:00 – 1:00 in the Carolina Union Great Hall

Many of the problems we choose come from books in the MSRI-AMS Mathematical Circles Library.