Spring 2019

  • The Beginners Group and the Elementary Group meet on Saturdays from 9:00 – 10:00.
  • The Intermediate Group and the Advanced Group meet on Saturdays from 10:30 – 12:00.
  • We normally meet in Phillips Hall rooms 206 and 208. Room changes are noted below.

This schedule is tentative and may be changed.

Date Beginners Group Topic  Elementary Group Topic Intermediate Group Topic Advanced Group Topic
Saturday, Jan 12

Basketball Saturday

Tiling The Game of Criss Cross Euler Characteristic The Game of Nim
Saturday, Jan 19 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Jan 26 Math Auction Alien Arithmetic, Part 1 Free the Clones Euler’s Phi Function and Other Multiplicative Functions, Part 2
Saturday, Feb 2 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 9

Basketball Saturday

Runaway Digits Alien Arithmetic, Part 2 Compositions Euler’s Phi Function and Other Multiplicative Functions, Part 2
Saturday, Feb 16 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 23

Basketball Saturday

Encrypted Problems Alien Arithmetic and a Magic Trick Knots and knot coloring
Saturday, March 2 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, March 9

Basketball Saturday

Math Auction Math Auction AoPS guest speaker
Saturday, March 16 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, March 23

 

Combinatorics 1 The Fourth Dimension
Saturday, March 30 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, April 6 Combinatorics 2 Graph labeling

Saturday, April 13 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, April 20

 

Math Auction
Saturday, Apr 28 Math Circle will not meet

Many of the problems we choose come from books in the MSRI-AMS Mathematical Circles Library.

Advertisements