Spring 2018

  • The Beginners Group and the Elementary Group meet on Saturdays from 9:00 – 10:00.
  • The Intermediate Group and the Advanced Group meet on Saturdays from 10:30 – 12:00.
  • We normally meet in Phillips Hall rooms 206 and 208, or in Phillips 224 and 228. Room changes are noted below.

This schedule is tentative and may be changed.

Date Beginners Group Topic  Elementary Group Topic Intermediate Group Topic Advanced Group Topic
Saturday, Jan 13 Truth / Lie Problems Logic Puzzles Geometry Puzzles Spheres and Planar Graphs
Saturday, Jan 21 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Jan 27 Knights and Knaves Reflection Does It! Part 1 Problems about Integers, Part 1 Guarding An Art Gallery
Saturday, Feb 3 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 10 Knights and Knaves Cyphers Reflection Does It, Part 2 Problems about Integers, Part 2

Quaternions, Their Representations and Uses

Saturday, Feb 17 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 24

(Phillips 224 and 228)

Multiplication Puzzles

(room change: Phillips 224)

Origami

(room change: Phillips 228)

Origami

(room change: Phillips 224, start at 10:45)

Curvature and the Gauss-Bonnet Theorem

(room change: Phillips 228, start at 10:45)

Saturday, March 3 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, March 10

(meet in Peabody 203 and 204)

Combinatorics

(room change: Peabody 203)

Two Is Better Than Infinity, Part 1

(room change: Peabody 204)

Weighing Puzzles

(room change: Peabody 203)

Pell’s Equation

(room change: Peabody 204)

Saturday, March 17 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, March 24

(Phillips 224 and 228)

Card Problems (please bring deck of cards)

(room change: Phillips 224)

Two Is the Best Number, Part 2

(room change: Phillips 228)

Mathematical Induction

(room change: Phillips 224)

Euler Characteristic and Planar Graphs

(room change: Phillips 228)

Saturday, March 31 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, April 7 Magic Circles Two Is the Best Number, Part 3 Construct This!

Continued Fractions

Saturday, April 14 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, April 21

(Phillips 224 and 228)

Chess Problems

(room change: Phillips 224)

The Number 2 and Paths in Graphs

(room change: Phillips 228)

Math Auction

(room change: Phillips 224)

Finding structure in chaos, a.k.a. Ramsey numbers

(room change: Phillips 228)

Saturday, Apr 28 Math Circle will not meet
Sunday, May 6 Julia Robinson Math Festival 1:00 – 4:00 in the Carolina Union Great Hall

Many of the problems we choose come from books in the MSRI-AMS Mathematical Circles Library.

Advertisements