Spring 2021

Starting Jan 23, 2021, we will hold some math circles online. 

  • The Mobius Noodles Group will meet from 10:30 – 11:15. 
  • The Elementary Group and the Beginners Group will meet from 9:00 – 10:00.
  • The Intermediate Group and the Advanced Group will meet on Saturdays from 10:30 – 12:00.
  • URLs for online meeting locations will be posted below.

This schedule is tentative and may be changed.

 

Date  Moebius Noodles Topic Beginners Group Topic Elementary Group Topic Intermediate Group Topic Advanced Group Topic
Saturday, Jan 23 Design Your Own Factorization Diagrams Design Your Own Factorization Diagrams Cryptograms and Counterfeit Coins Four Points, Two Distances Matrices and Linear Algebra
Saturday, Jan 30 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 6 Factorization Diagrams, Part 2 Factorization Diagrams, Part 2 Reflection does it, part 1 Grid Power Image Processing
Saturday, Feb 13 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Feb 20 Magnitude and Powers Magnitude and Powers Reflection Does It! Part 2 Taxicab Geometry P-adic Numbers
Saturday, Feb 27 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Mar 6 Multiplication Models Scavenger Hunt Mutiplication Models Scavenger Hunt Reflection, Part 3 – Pool Tables Geometry Puzzles P-adic Numbers
Saturday, Mar 13 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Mar 20 MathLexicon: combinations and compound words MathLexicon: combinations and compound words Two Is the Best Number Part 1 Mathematical Induction Solving Systems of Equations
Saturday, Mar 27 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Apr 3 Storytelling and Modeling: Logic Puzzles Storytelling and Modeling: Logic Puzzles Two Is the Best Number Part 2 The Game of Sprouts X-rays and puzzles
Saturday, Apr 10 Math Circle will not meet.
Saturday, Apr 17 Overlapping Circles Art Overlapping Circles Art Two Is  the Best Number Part 3 Invariants The Mathematics of Ranking
Saturday, April 24 Math Circle will not meet
Saturday, May 1 TBD TBD Two is the best number, Part 4 Modular Arithmetic Symmetries of the 15-puzzle
  .

Many of the problems we choose come from books in the MSRI-AMS Mathematical Circles Library.